Hogs Hunt 25k

After running a 50k the weekend before, thought I’d entertain myself with another 25k at Huntsville State Park.  Weather started off nice, as I was shivering and chilly, somewhere around 46 degrees before the sun came up.  Since it was only 1 25k loop, I took splits between aid stations rather than for each loop.

Split 1: 41:21 4.51 mi 9:10 min/mi
Started off with Cees (was thinking early this maybe was a mistake?) but he left me once we got on the CCC trail. Was nice to catch up with him.

Split 2: 30:01 3.4 mi 8:49 min/mi
Didn’t stop long at the A/S before retracing steps along the CCC to the chinquapin trail and was feeling pretty good, surprised I was still moving this fast.

Split 3: 50:53 5.23 mi 9:44 min/mi
Didn’t feel like I was slowing down, but that’s what my garmin said. This part does drag on for a while, and had quite a bit more sand than I remember. Started to feel more like work in this area as I was really just waiting to get the long bridges which means you’re near the end of this section, and near the HTREx A/S. I think two runners blew past me in this stretch.

Split 4: 25:53 2.6 mi 9:56 min/mi
I just grunted for more water at the HTREx A/S as I was feeling a bit spent, and quickly got out there, and walked for about 30 yards, which is really the only walking I did during the race. Definitely was pretty hard to sustain a “quick” pace in this section, but just kept pushing. The last mile or so, there were two chicks who were probably not more than 50 yards back, so that was really my only motivation to keep going…. and to try to sneak in under 2:30. Which I did, with a finishing time of 2:28:10. Only my 2nd 25k (my first was 4 years ago at this course, which was my first trail run), but will always take a PR. It was a nice run, but I was glad it was not any further — legs and body were pretty drained by the end, especially from the previous weekend’s 50k. Chatted with the other HTREx buddies at the finish before chilling at the A/S for a bit and heading home.

Leave a Reply

